New Testament

Welcome to the New Testament website, where we focus on theology, research and discussion to better understand this great, historical collection of 27 books.

The New Testament is the second major division of the Christian biblical canon, the first division is much longer than the Old Testament.

The contents of the New Testament explicitly deal with the 1 century Christianity, although both the Old and New Testament are considered together, such as the Holy Bible. The New Testament is thus (in whole or in part) is often associated with the spread of Christianity around the world, and both reflects and serves as a source of Christian theology. Phrases, and extended readings directly from the New Testament are also included (in conjunction with readings from the Old Testament) into the various Christian liturgies. The New Testament is affected not only religious, philosophical and political movements in the Christian world, but also left an indelible mark on the literature, art and music.

The New Testament is an anthology, a collection of works written at different times in different writers. Almost all Christian traditions today, The New Testament consists of 27 books. The original text was written around AD 50 at the beginning of Koine Greek, the lingua franca in the eastern part of the Roman Empire, in which they are composed. All the work that will ultimately be included in the New Testament seems to have been written no later than mid-2 century.

Collections of texts, such as letters of the Apostle Paul (a large collection, which is made at an early stage, in the 2nd century), and the Canonical Gospels of Matthew, Mark, Luke and John (asserted by Irenaeus of Lyon in the late 2nd century the four Gospels) gradually integrated into other collections, and one works in different combinations to form various canons of the Christian Bible. Over time, some of the challenged books, such as the Book of Revelation and the Minor Catholic Epistles cannon imported, where they were originally absent, and other works previously considered to be Scripture such as 1 Clement, Shepherd Hermas, Diatessaron, and were excluded from the New Testament. Interestingly, although the Old Testament Canon is not unified Christendom, for example, Roman Catholic, Protestant, Greek Orthodox Church, the Slavic Orthodox Churches and the Armenian Orthodox Church differ as to which books are included, one twenty-seven book canon of the New Testament, because at least the Late Antique, is almost unanimously recognized by Christianity (see the twenty-seven book canon, exceptions are the New Testament and the canon of the Ethiopian Orthodox Church, which like that of the Old Testament, is not unambiguously fixed and Martin Luther was trying to close the four books in New Testament). The New Testament consists of four stories about life, teaching, and the death of Jesus, called “the Gospels’ narrative of the apostles ministries of the early church, called the” Acts of the Apostles, “and probably by the same author as the Gospel of Luke, which it continues; twenty-one letters, often referred to as” letters “in the biblical context , written in various authors and consisting mostly of Christians, advice, guidance and resolution, and the Apocalypse.

View the actual New Testament books: